NA speaker forms parliamentary panel to set TORs for legislation


ISLAMABAD: Speaker National Assembly Asad Qaiser has formed a 14-member parliamentary committee and directed it to prepare Terms of Reference (TOR) with regard to legislation. The speaker formed the committee in the wake of opposition’s commotion over the legislation enacted by Deputy Speaker National Assembly Qasim Khan Suri. NA Speaker Qaiser directed the parliamentary body to formulate the TORs regarding legislation in the lower house and forward them to the speaker. The Opposition parties brought a no-confidence move against Deputy Speaker Suri but on Speaker Qaiser’s assurance of an amicable solution to the problem by forming a body consisting members from both the treasury and Opposition parties, the Opposition withdrew its no-trust motion against Suri. The parliamentary body consists of Defence Minister Pervaiz Khattak, Planning and Development Minister Asad Umar, Federal Minister for Housing Tariq Bashir Cheema, Federal Minister for Inter-Provincial Coordination Dr Fehmida Mirza, Adviser on Parliamentary Affairs Babar Awan, MQM leader Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui and MNA Khalid Magsi from treasury benches. From Oppostion benches, PML-N leaders Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Sardar Ayaz Sadiq and Rana Sana Ullah; JUI (F) MNA Shahida Akhtar Ali; PPP’s Naveed Qamar and Shazia Marri and BNP MNA Agha Hassan Baloch were included in the parliamentary committee. The committee will soon formulate and send its terms of reference pertaining to legislation to the speaker.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here