PM reshuffles cabinet, appoints Shaukat Tareen new finance minister


ISLAMABAD: (Jameel Awan) Prime Minister Imran Khan has signed off on the reshuffling of the federal cabinet yet again and appointed Shaukat Tareen as the country’s new finance minister. Tareen has replaced federal minister Hammad Azhar, who was appointed as the country’s finance minister a few weeks ago when the premier replaced him with Dr Abdul Hafeez Shaikh. Some of the other changes made to the portfolios of cabinet members include Hammad Azhar has been appointed as the Minister for Energy, replacing Omar Ayub. Khusro Bakhtiar has been appointed the Minister for Industries and Production. Shibli Faraz has been appointed the Minister for Science and Technology, replacing Fawad Chaudhry. Fawad Chaudhry has been appointed the Minister for Information and Broadcasting, replacing Shibli Faraz. Omar Ayub has been appointed as Minister for Economic Affairs, replacing Khusro Bakhtiar. Earlier, sources told that the government was ready to work with the government as PM Imran Khan’s special assistant on finance and revenue. It said Tareen — who was already attending important meetings of PM Imran Khan’s finance and economic team — had agreed to take up the role but had asked for “15-20 days'” time to join.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here